⊷ Cassandra Clare

One must always be careful of books and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us.

Advertisements

✦ Rescript: Red Dragon – 191.

She knew the value of their days. She could hold a moment by its stem. She had taught him to relish.

A Review: A Simple Favour by Darcey Bell. (No Spoilers)

Published: March 21 2017, by Harper. ~ Genre: Thriller, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Crime Fiction, and Psychological Fiction.

She’s your best friend.
She knows all your secrets.
That’s why she’s so dangerous.
A single mother’s life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

swirl-e1505920391419

Let me start this by being entirely honest, I purchased A Simple Favour by Darcey Bell a while back. It’s been sitting on my bookshelf with its many competitors waiting patiently for its time to shine. Many times I have picked it up, read the blurb and returned it to the shelf not really in the mood for the storyline (I’m sure all readers can relate to being ‘in the mood’ to read something). Finally, I committed and I’m really kicking myself I never read it sooner. Wow, what a read!

The deception was addictive. The dark corners and surprises just kept coming. I was hooked. This compelling story of manipulation and lies just rolled on, I was never bored. I danced between shock, compassion and even revulsion in some parts. I found myself cursing at characters for being so naive but willing to watch them be deceived. And with all that going on A Simple Favour really placed emphasis on what it is to be a mother, and truly how far we would go to protect our children and provide the best possible life for them. How something so beautiful can get caught up in such a twisted tale… brilliant!

There were flaws though, however, they were minor and more me just getting irritated over small matters. The first, there were a few minor typos. Which is not uncommon to find and we are human and I’m accepting of that, but I came across one too many, in other words, more than normal. The second, now this may seem insignificant but I feel it’s worth calling into the light. American English: ‘Favor’ and British English: ‘Favour’, two correct variations of a word. On the cover, as you can see, British English is used, but throughout the entire book, they use the American English version (and the word favour is used enough in the book to notice). Although the title may have been edited to suit my location I’ve never come across this before, authors/editors will usually edit all or stick to one type of spelling.

Anyway, by no means do these things ruin or taint the book because that’s all they are ‘things’, I was simply telling of my experience. It really was a fast-paced and unpredictable whirlwind! In fact, it’s been that successful they made it into a movie which was released in September 2018. Here is the trailer, but wait, I’m a HUGE believer in ‘read before you watch’, I have not had a chance to watch the movie yet so I do not know how much it differs from the original storyline. It’s your call, here it is:

I was happy I read this book, but I’m not happy that I didn’t read it sooner. Ahh see, never judge a book by its cover… or its blurb… whatever. I rated it 4 stars on my Goodreads. The reason for the missing star is the minor ‘flaws’ which distracted me just enough to be annoying, and the fact that I believe they could have done a little better with the ending, but that’s just my opinion. It was still a remarkable book.

Get it. Read it, and if you really want to… Watch it! I doubt you’ll be disappointed.

Thanks for reading guys.

AJ.

swirl-e1505920391419

↬ A new addition for my 2019 read list 🖤 – Call Me Evie by J.P. Pomare.

Something strange happened today, I only purchased ONE new book while I was out today, first time for everything I guess… but trust me, I could have bought an entire shelf full. So many great books being released at the moment. Excited to dive into this one, even more so because it features my hometown Melbourne in Australia.

Open for book recommendations! 😊

➳ 2019 Reading Goals

Hey guys, let’s talk reading goals!

I read some pretty amazing books in 2018, but no where near the amount that I would have liked to, and thats really dissapointing to me because reading is so much of my everyday life. But between my two young children, university and the simple demands of life I really didnt do a very good job of prioritising and doing the things that give me peace (reading and writing) while I juggled everything else. So, what I’m saying is, 2019 is going to be done a little different.

Most of you would have heard of, or perhaps already use Goodreads? If not, get onto that, it’s a great way to keep track of what you have read, what others are reading and their reviews, as well as searching for new books to read. You can also add friends and join groups with likeminded readers, it’s brillent. If you decide to join, or already have a Goodreads account ,feel free to follow me ➳ https://www.goodreads.com/amberjaydereads just click ‘Follow’, done! I’ve been on Goodreads since 2014 but I’ve never took advantage of it’s features, rather, I used it as a library, which it kind of is but so much more now then it was before. So, let’s cut to my goals for 2019! If you’ve created a reading goals list I’d love to read it, drop a comment and I’ll head over to check it out!

bookstagram-1-1

1» READ MORE! I’ve set my reading challenge on Goodreads to 100 books this year, lets see how I go.

2» Explore more genres. I find I always hug my favourites – Horror, Thriller, Psychological Thrillers, and Crime. That’s not to say I have not read others but this is where I tend to hangout.

3» Include some Nonfiction books. While I love my fictional worlds I’d like to read some Nonfiction this year, I have a few books on my shelf that are ready to go.

4» BLOG MORE! Now that I’ve finally settled with my blog, (after many many revamps and erases, my followers know all too well what I am like) I’m excited to have converted it into a blog that focuses on books and writing. I figured why now merge the two things I love to do. So here we are!

5» Get personal with the Goodreads community! As I mentioned above, I’ve been with Goodreads since 2014 but I’ve never full explored all it’s features. This year, I plan to be all over it.

I’m starting off with these 5 reading goals for 2019. I’m known to put too much pressure on myself and set too many deadlines creating a ridiculous amount of anxiety, not this year. I’m accepting the fact that I am human, and I’m starting this year embracing a positive mindset. I plan to get in touch with who I am and what I want out of this life while reamining humble and healthy and engaging in more things that are good for me and my soul.

Happy New Years everyone!

AJ.

Currently reading: A Simple Favour by Darcey Bell. (Update: Book Finished)

img_0759

It’s gripping, it’s addictive, and it’s absolutely shocking. I’m about 80% done with this Crime Fiction/Thriller. Review coming soon. ♡

A Review: The Cliff House by Amanda Jennings. (No Spoilers)

Published: May 17 2018 by HQ. ~ Genre: Thriller/Psychological Thriller.

The Davenports, with their fast cars and glamorous clothes, living the dream in a breathtaking house overlooking the sea. If only… thinks sixteen-year-old Tamsyn, her binoculars trained on the perfect family in their perfect home.

If only her life was as perfect as theirs.

If only Edie Davenport would be her friend.

If only she lived at The Cliff House…

 

swirl-e1505920391419

 

The caption on the front cover of The Cliff House: – ‘Bad things happen in beautiful places’ really encaptures this story and what it’s all about.

I was swept away into a fictional word of beauty, riches, loss, possessiveness, deception, deceit, and addiction. Jennings walks you through jealousy and hatred as well as what it is to be thankful for the life you were given.

The majority of the story is told through the eyes of two teenager girls, one from a wealthy but broken family and the other from a poor but humble family. When Tamsyn and Edies worlds collide it brings with it false hope, love and disaster.

A brilliant plot, however original it may be, with in-depth characters and an enchanting world poisoned by lost faith, death and drugs.

If you enjoy a fast paced thriller or psychological thriller, this one is for you!

AJ.

swirl-e1505920391419